ISSA Announces 2023 Outstanding Government Service Awards Winners

Shown, left to right, are ISSA Executive Director John Barrett, U.S. Senator John Boozman, and ISSA Director of Government Affairs John Nothdurft.

ISSA announced the recipients of the 2023 ISSA Outstanding Government Service Awards during the association’s Clean Advocacy Summit. The award recipients were selected by ISSA with input from its Government Affairs Advisory Committee.

The recipients of this year’s awards are U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) and U.S. Representative Grace Meng (D-NY-06).

“ISSA thanks Representative Meng and Senator Boozman for their outstanding government service,” ISSA Executive Director John Barrett said. “On behalf of the more than 10,500 ISSA members, we congratulate them on their well-deserved awards.”

Senator Boozman was instrumental in the passage of legislation on pesticide registration.

“ISSA is proud to recognize Senator Boozman for his outstanding government service on behalf of the cleaning industry and his leadership and support for the Pesticide Registration Improvement Act of 2022 (PRIA). This legislation will go a long way in helping our members to continue to innovate and provide antimicrobial products needed to ensure healthy and sanitary homes, hospitals, schools, workplaces, and other spaces,” ISSA Director of Government Affairs John Nothdurft said.

Shown, left to right, are ISSA Government Affairs Advisory Committee Chair Tom Friedl; U.S. Representative Grace Meng; and ISSA Director of Government Affairs John Nothdurft.

Senator Boozman said in response to receiving the award, “I am honored to receive this recognition from ISSA, and I was pleased to work across the aisle to reauthorize PRIA at the end of the last Congress. The industry invests significant time and resources to help improve the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) registration and regulation of the critical tools we all rely upon to ensure the safe and healthy conditions our communities work, learn and play in. The EPA’s science-based, risk-based processes must provide the regulated industry transparency and predictability, and I look forward to ensuring it delivers on those principles as the agency moves forward with implementing PRIA 5.”

Representative Meng helped bring about federal policy changes regarding the access of menstrual products to all who need them.

“ISSA wants to thank and recognize Representative Meng for her pivotal role in helping address the issue of period poverty by passing significant federal policy changes aimed at alleviating period poverty across the country,” Nothdurft said. “We also thank Representative Meng for her leadership in sponsoring the 2021 Menstrual Equity for All Act (H.R.3614) as well as other policies aimed at addressing period poverty.”

“It is an amazing honor to receive the Outstanding Government Service Award from the International Sanitary Supply Association, recognizing the work I have proudly championed in the fight for menstrual equity,” said Congresswoman Grace Meng (D-NY). “We know the cleaning and sanitation industry is vitally important, which was highlighted throughout the pandemic. I look forward to doing all I can to help improve and support this critical industry and continuing my efforts in fighting for menstrual equity.”

The 2023 ISSA Outstanding Government Service Awards were presented as part of the association’s Clean Advocacy Summit that took place in Washington, D.C., March 28-29, as part of National Cleaning Week.

For more information about these awards, the ISSA Clean Advocacy Summit, and National Cleaning Week, contact ISSA Government Affairs Manager Stacy Seiden.

Share on Socials!

Related Articles

Related Articles

Georgia-Pacific Announces $150 Million Investment Involving Its Halsey, OR, Facility

Georgia-Pacific will have invested more than $200 million in paper machine and converting assets after the completion of recent work involving the company’s Halsey, OR, facility. ...
Read More

BradyIFS + Envoy Solutions Expands Footprint In Southeast With Acquisition Of PFS Sales Company

BradyIFS + Envoy Solutions BradyIFS + Envoy Solutions, a distributor of janitorial/sanitation (jan/san), foodservice disposables and industrial packaging products, has acquired PFS Sales Company (PFS Sales). ...
Read More

Green Seal® Announces Members Of Sanitary Paper Product Working Group

Green Seal has announced that representatives from leading retailers, industry associations, manufacturers and purchasers have joined its working group to provide their advice and expertise to ...
Read More

Follow MSN!